Your gateway to a wide range of natural resources information and associated maps

Victorian Resources Online

Catchment Planning

Declared Special Areas

Catchment Management Authorities (CMAs) were established under the Catchment and Land Protection Act 1994 to facilitate implementation of regional catchment strategies. These CMAs combine the roles of a range of former groups including Catchment and Land Protection Boards (CaLPBs), river management authorities and other waterway management groups. The major task of the East Gippsland Catchment Management Authority (external link) is to implement regional catchment strategies (WGCaLP 1997; EGCaLP 1997). The objectives in implementing the regional catchment strategies include the maintenance and improvement of water quality and river condition, and conservation/protection of the diversity and extent of natural ecosystems.

Land managers are required to have regard to any regional catchment strategy applying to the land. Areas within catchments warranting particular attention, such as areas required for water supply, can be declared as ‘Special Areas’ by CMAs under the Catchment and Land Protection Act 1994. In the East Gippsland region, there are ten Special Areas classified as Declared Water Supply Catchments. These areas were formerly called Proclaimed Water Supply Catchments under the now repealed Soil Conservation and Land Utilisation Act 1958. Declared Water Supply Catchment Areas are identified because of their significance as a source of water.

Under the Act, Special Area Plans, which can be prepared for declared areas, specify how particular land management issues in these areas will be addressed. Land Use Determinations (LUDs) previously prepared for these water supply catchments are now regarded as Special Area Plans (SAPs) under the Catchment and Land Protection Act 1994.

(C of A and State of Victoria 1999)

Page top