SECTION 4 - MAPPING UNITS

4.1 On the Soil Type Map

At the scale of 1:45,000, selected as econo9mically justifiable, nine mapping units were defined. Five of the units are soil types, three are complexes and one is unclassified depression soils.

In this report, those soils referred to collectively as "Black soils" by the local community are mapped as two soil types:

- 1. **Kalkee clay microscale complex** regarded as the principal soil type in the area and indicated on the soil map by the symbol Kc, and
- 2. **Kalkee clay grey profile** occupying a relatively small part of the area and indicated on the soil map by the symbol Kc-gp.

Those soils referred to collectively as "Red Soil" by the local community are mapped as three soil types:

- 1. **Murra Warra clay complex** indicated on the soil map by the symbol M^Wc,
- 2. **Murra Warra sandy 10am** indicated on the soil map by the symbol M^Wsl, and
- 3. **Murra Warra sandy clay loam** indicated on the soil map by the symbol M^Wscl

Any mapping unit shown on the map as a single soil type contains up to 5% of other soils. The three classes of complex units are as follows:

Small areas of unclassified depression soils were mapped and indicated by the symbol Us.

The soil types are described in detail in the following section.

4.2 On the Soil Association Map

Soils in the area belong mainly to the *grey*, *brown and red clay* Great Soil Group, with very few soils of the red brown earth group. Only two units have been included in the soil association map:

- 1. Kalkee Association
- 2. Murra Warra Association.

The soil associations are described in some detail in Section 6.