ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

The editor expresses his appreciation to James Matters, Noel Schoknecht, and other staff members of the Department of Conservation and Environment, particularly those within the Alexandra Regional Office for their assistance throughout the project.

Thanks are also extended to DiGiTYPE for computer typesetting from C&E disks, and for finished artwork. Staff within Drafting Services Branch (C&E) particularly Mr. Martin Batt & Mr. Hugo Caro, supervised the production of the Land Unit maps and figures.

Special thanks goes to all contributors (listed below) and to the Seymour Historical Society through Mrs. Mirriam Wallis for information pertaining to the region's history.

LIST OF CONTRIBUTORS

R.F. Chaffe

Department of Conservation and Environment Alexandra Region 46 Aitken St Alexandra 3714

P.D. Cook

Land Protection Division
Department of Conservation and Environment
Keith Turnbull Research Institute
PO Box 401
Bendigo 3550

M.J. Garratt Garratt Pty Ltd 186-188 High Street Heathcote 3523

F. Gigliotti

Land Protection Division
Department of Conservation and Environment
Keith Turnbull Research Institute
PO Box 48
Frankston 3199

W. Gilmour Department of Water Resources 35 Spring Street Melbourne 3000

J.E. Grimes Ministry for Planning and Environment 71 Hotham Street Traralgon 3844

J. Hopper Department of Conservation and Environment Alexandra Region 46 Aitken Street Alexandra 3714 D.F. Howe Land Conservation Unit Conservation Commission PO Box 496 Palmerston Northern Territory 0831

A.J. Montgomery Department of Agriculture and Rural Affairs PO Box 215 Seymour 3660

R. Nathanielsz Planning and Marketing Branch Rural Water Commission 590 Orrong Road Armadale 3143

P.G. Nydam National Climate Centre Bureau of Meteorology GPO Box 1289K Melbourne 3001

B. R. Radford Dept of Conservation and Environment Alexandra Region 46 Aitken Street Alexandra 3714

N.J. Rosengren 13 Wigton Street Ascot Vale 3032

L.A. White Land Protection Division